Login

Shomrei Torah has been involved with Israel through the efforts Rabbi Mark and other lay leaders.  In 2011, a small group lead by Ray Fishler visited Israel on the March of the Living.  This was the first trip of its kind for the congregation.

In April, 2011, a proposal was made to create greater Israel awareness in Wayne.  An Israel Engagement Committee was formed to meet this goal.  Its mission is to increase Israel awareness and establish a strong Israel/Masorti connection in the Shomrei Torah community.  With a yearlong schedule of Israel-themed programs, the entire synagogue will be engaged with Israel.

Routine communications will keep members informed of current events, local Israel-related activities and travel opportunities.  We also intend to lay the groundwork for a congregation mission to Israel in 2013.  The year will end with our participation in the annual Israel Day Parade in New York on Sunday, June 3rd, 2012.

 



 SHOMREI TORAH ISRAEL ENGAGEMENT COMMITTEE

2011/12 (5772) CALENDAR

Committee meetings will start at 8pm following evening minyan.
Dinner will precede some meetings at 7pm based on demand.
Program dates are shown in underlined boldface.

Thursday September 22

Committee meeting

Thursday October 27

Committee meeting

Monday November 21

Israeli Film Evening

Thursday December 22

Committee meeting/Chanukah Party

Sunday January 8

JNF Shomrei Torah “Gan b’Yisrael”

Thursday January 26

Committee meeting, prep for TbS program

Wednesday February 8

Tu b’Shevat Event (TBD)

Thursday February 23

Committee meeting (Rosh Chodesh Adar)

Monday March 26

Committee meeting, prep for “Israel Month”

ISRAEL ACTION MONTHS (NISAN & IYYAR 5772)

Wednesday April 18

Yom Hashoah observance (TBD)

Tuesday April 24

Yom Hazikaron observance (TBD

Thursday April 26

Committee meeting (end of Yom Ha’Atzmaut)

Fri/Sat April 27/28

Israel Celebration Shabbat

Wednesday May 9

Lag b’Omer program (with bonfire?)

Sunday May 20

Yom Yerushalayim BBQ (“EOY” fete)

Thursday May 24

Committee meeting, prep for Israel Day Parade

Sunday June 3

Israel Day Parade (NYC)

Thursday June 21

Committee meeting, future planning

JNF Logo

PJ Library.logo with tag line

 

Wayne Conservative Jewish Congregation
Go to top